Berlin Film Festival announces 2022 juries – Deadline

The 72nd Berlin International Film Festival has confirmed its various juries, including the one who will join M. Night Shyamalan to award the prizes for the international competition.

Alongside International Jury President Shyamalan will be Karim Aïnouz (Brazil / Algeria), Anne Zohra Berrached (Germany), Saïd Ben Saïd (France / Tunisia), Tsitsi Dangarembga (Zimbabwe), Ryûsuke Hamaguchi (Japan) and Connie Nielsen (Denmark / US).

As part of the competitive Encounters program, a three-member jury will choose the winners for best film, best director and a special jury prize: content director Chiara Marañón (Spain), artist and filmmaker Ben Rivers (UK) and producer, writer and director Silvan Zürcher (Switzerland).

Elsewhere, the GFF Best First Feature will be awarded to a first film in the various Berlin sections and will be decided by a three-person jury: Gaia Furrer (Italy), Vimukthi Jayasundara (Sri Lanka) and Shahrbanoo Sadat (Afghanistan).

The Berlin Documentary Prize jury this year is composed of: Wang Bing (People’s Republic of China), Rana Eid (Lebanon), Susanne Schüle (Germany).

Finally, six members divided into the two juries of the Generation program. Generation Kplus International Jury: Daniela Cajías, Nicola Jones and Samuel Kishi Leopo. And Generation 14plus: Paolo Bertolin, Rubika Shah and Dash Shaw.

Berlin runs from February 10-16 this year, with the various prizes being awarded on February 16. The festival will hold repeat screenings from February 17-20.

Darcy J. Skinner